You Can’t Pick Your Family, But…

You can pick the friends that become your family.

I don’t mean to get super melodramatic here, since from the title you may be under the impression that I have some horrible family. I don’t. They are all good, generally well-meaning people and I do love them. However, particularly with my parents, I’ve been feeling a growing rift between us since they’ve discovered that I do not have any religious beliefs and neither does The Geek.

It’s a little hard to believe “Oh, we’ll always love you sweetie”, when it comes directly after, “we will never condone you being with this person that you love.” That was the conversation that left me so desperate for some form of maternal approval I just about called up The Geek’s mom (hello, second mother figure!) to get some, any, affirmation.

Rather than dwelling on the sad side of things, today I’d like to talk about the positive – the people in my life that lift me up and are family regardless of bloodline.

Now of course you know that The Geek will be on this list, that’s a given. But right after him? It’s The Historian! We’ve become good friends over the last couple of years, and he always offers insight into whatever’s going on. He also reminds me to be a little less hard on myself sometimes, and even when I suck about keeping in contact he doesn’t hesitate to take the initiative.

I’ve found that there are a lot of good friends to be found in my meetup groups: my crafty friend that I go to craft shows with, who claims she’s not good with people but shows more interest and compassion than I’ve seen before. Or basically the entire group of my sci-fi club, including but not limited to the mom figure who always makes a point of greeting me with a hug and asking (genuinely) how everything is going, the teacher that will give a spirited debate of the merits and faults of a piece of media but also excitedly help newbies get started…

Actually, now that I think about it, I have a really long list of people in my life that are awesome, supportive, thoughtful, and good friends. It’s probably a good reminder; I can be sad and frustrated with my family situation, or I can be proactive and pursue more beneficial friendships.

I think I’ll stick to the latter :)

What about you guys? Do you have any friends that feel like family, or that help you get through tough times?

Leave a Reply

