Level Up!

(This time with a bonus Mulan theme!)


Up until my first challenge, I’ve always either been losing weight dangerously fast, or steadily packing weight on. Last challenge I learned that it doesn’t take too much to get me to maintain my fitness, I get strong much easier than I expected, and I actually *gasp* ENJOY exercise. Sometimes. It’s a work in progress.

Now, my quest is to not just maintain my fitness, but to get better, stronger, and faster. I want to be able to go on a bike ride with my fiance without huffing and puffing. I want to play with the kids I work with without having to stop to catch my breath. And frankly, I want to not flinch and suck in my stomach whenever I walk by a reflective surface.

I’ll do this by:

Training for battle for 15 minutes a day, five days a week. (+5 STA)


I’m currently working up to swimming a mile and on completing the advanced body weight workout, but if I get bored or outgrow those I’ll pick up the rebel strength guide and start working through that. I’m not as worried about what I do, simply that I exercise consistently.
Trigger: I’ll leave a water bottle, workout clothes, and my exercise routine by my bed so that as soon as I wake up I can get my workout out of the way.

Winning the smaller battle against baked goods. (+5 CON)


Last challenge I was moderately successful at cutting out bread, now I’m extending it to all baked goods; pasta, cookies, pastries, tortillas, all of it (beer is still allowed though). This is a smaller battle before I go up against my big bad guy – sugar.

Fueling up well by packing/making my own lunch. (+2 STA)

Lunch is where my day is made or broken; if I have something tasty to look forward to, it sets the rest of my day up well. If I didn’t have time to pack something, I spend all morning day dreaming of fast food, end up eating way too much, and feel groggy and unproductive for the rest of the day.
Trigger: When I get home from work, I’ll clean out my lunch box and pack something new.

Life Quest: (+3 WIS)
Start getting a handle on my finances. Baby steps on this one; I’m not even going to necessarily try to change anything yet, I just want to get in the habit of tracking my expenses.
Trigger: When I pull in to my parking spot after work, before I’m even out of the car I’ll use my tablet to input any receipts for the day.

I’ll be tracking my progress and average weight/body fat% in a nifty Google Spreadsheet I tweaked from Lifehacker. You can find that here, and once I have some data I’ll put it into some sort of nifty graph. You can of course, always follow my challenge thread here to get updates, cheer me on, or boo me when I give in to temptation :P

(P.S. As much as my posting is already sporadic, it will probably be more so during challenges cuz, you know, building new habits and stuff. I should still be able to get a new post up at least once a week, but any more than that will be unlikely.)

Thanks for reading about my next level up quest, what are you working on to level up your life?

5 thoughts on “Level Up!

Leave a Reply

