Post-Retail Life and OMG Dungeons and Dragons!

A week ago, I quit my second job as a retail robot.

I didn’t really think it would make that much of a difference, just some extra time and a bit less stress.

Boy was I wrong. After even just a day, it felt like a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

All of this week, as I’d come home from my real job I’d find myself thinking, “wait, I’m done?! I can whatever I want now?”

Thus, this week I’ve been sucked into the not necessarily “productive”, but entirely satisfying acts of cooking my own meals from scratch, working on my knit socks, reading a good book, and snuggling up with The Geek to watch sci-fi (he’s rather pleased to have a girlfriend that begs him to watch more Stargate with her…”C’mon, one more episode of Atlantis? Pleeeeeease?”)

44

I’ve had just about nothing on my mind except “oh-my-god-how-did-I-not-realize-how-delicious-(cashews, sweet potatoes, or pears with cinnamon and bacon)-are?!” and trying to finagle my work schedule around with lots of last minute problems.

Well, I have been wrestling with the arc for the Dungeons and Dragons game I’m running. Oh yea, you heard me right – I’m a dungeon master! (I’ve seen this also referenced as a dungeon mistress, but….)

Unless you look very closely, this has entirely different connotations

I’m pretty pumped from last week – I made my own encounter, integrated it into a skills challenge on the fly and had a good time roleplaying with my group. From the little work I’ve done for tomorrow, this week looks to be even more awesome (and it’s so hard to keep from running to The Geek to tell him about it because he’s one of the players)

….

And now that I’m back from derailing with my dungeon master’s guide in one tab and the adventure in another, I should probably go.

Holy crap, it’s 10pm? I started writing this at 8. Whoops. I guess I should go to bed or something. More DnD in the morning.

Leave a Reply

