Lots of Love (and a bonus baked brie recipe)

I’ve been feeling pretty loved this last week, not just because of the big holiday yesterday, but really across the board.

Last Friday at work I took my intermediate competency test, which consists of a supervisor observing me and taking data on how well I do my job. It was a little nerve wracking, but my feedback came back almost all positive (my observer pointed out that she really had to dig for things for me to work on, and the words “phenomenal” and “awesome” were thrown around a few times).

Then one of my best and oldest friends came up for the weekend. It was really good to see him and get to hang out for awhile. He was very sweet and bought me groceries for the week, calling it a housewarming present, and pointed out at least a dozen times how happy he was to see The Geek and I. I also appreciated his sharp editor’s eye on my last post =)

I had work last night, so The Geek and I celebrated our Valentine’s Day on Wednesday in the low-key style that has become our norm. We made steak, baked brie, and sweet potato tater tots (I knew he’d love them). I felt bad for the upstairs neighbors since my overly-sensitive fire alarm went off several times, but with some strategic fanning and open windows we managed to not have the fire department bursting in the door.

It’s been a hectic, crazy week, so that’s about all I’ve got for today, but, if you’re interested in a cheesy, flaky, slightly sweet recipe, you’ll find it after the jump (and no, I’m not including a picture. Have you seen baked brie? There’s just no way to make that look appetizing!)

 

Apple Pie Baked Brie

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 small round brie
  • 1/2 cup your choice of nuts, lightly chopped
  • 1 apple
  • cinnamon and sugar, to taste
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat the oven to 400 degree Fahrenheit. Lay out the puff pastry on a baking sheet. Using a small knife, remove the rind from the brie (you don’t have to get all of it, but removing most of it helps the dish stay together). Place the brie in the center of the puff pastry. Sprinkle on the nuts. Slice the apple thinly and lay the slices on top of the nuts (you won’t need the whole apple). Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar to your taste, I used about 1/2 cup of sugar since I have a sweet tooth.

Fold the edges of the puff pastry up and over the brie, sealing the edges so no cheesy goodness leaks out, and brush with the egg (you won’t need all of it). Bake for about 25 minutes, or until golden brown, and let cool for several minutes before serving.

I may be weird, but I actually liked this a lot better cold the next day. It seems like the brie is more mild when cold, and I really prefer mild cheeses. It’s super delicious, but quite rich – get a friend to help you eat it!

2 thoughts on “Lots of Love (and a bonus baked brie recipe)

Leave a Reply

