Summer of 1000 Things (Alternate Version)

When I saw Minimalist Living’s post The Summer of 1000 Things, it immediately piqued my interest. It’s only been six months since I moved but already I’m noticing that I have extra stuff piling up, and a good summer clean out seems like a great idea.

I am, however, going to tweak it a little bit for my own purposes. I have some bad habits with items: I overstock my pantry (or in this case, the closet and drawers that act as my pantry since there’s no room in the kitchen) and end up with lots of staples and frozen meals that I never actually get around to using.

Sometimes my craft bug gets the better of me and I end up with supplies that I have a future project in mind for – or unfortunately, not any project ideas at all because I assumed something would just come to me.

I let the few clothes I have get worn down and don’t fix or replace them when they need it.

And I’m not great at keeping extra supplies organized; my “pantry” is a mess, my decently sized collection of knitting needles is still sitting in a pile, and my art box is overflowing with paint.

So I’ve decided to alter the challenge just a little: instead of just giving away 1000 things, I’m expanding it to reusing, repairing, using up, replacing, organizing, or giving away 1000 things.

I won’t be writing about all of these, obviously, but I’ll probably talk about a few. I’m thinking of doing a before/after photo of my closet (it really is horrible) and a tutorial for some canvas pixel paintings I’ll be doing (using white paint to reuse old canvas, and using up more paint to create the new picture. 3 in 1!) and probably a final score for you at the end of summer, which I’m semi-arbitrarily calling September 1st. I don’t know if I’ll get to 1000, but I’ll be interested to see how it goes.

Do you do seasonal cleaning? Have you ever done a challenge to get rid of extra items? How do you keep from having too much clutter and unused items?

I’d love to hear about it in the comments! :)

Leave a Reply

