Coconut Butter Fail, But Chocolate Win

Coconut butter recipes have been making the rounds of paleo blogs, and with the rave reviews and utter simplicity of the recipe (dump in coconut, blend, enjoy) I thought I’d give it a shot. I threw the coconut I had on hand, sweetened shreds, into the food processor and gave it a whirl.

Unfortunately, I didn’t realize until it was too late it’s actually quite important that the coconut is unsweetened and not just an attempt to reduce sugar levels.

I was left with a pile of powdery coconut mess, but I decided to make the best of it.

How do you make a fail better? Add chocolate!

IMG_0184

Working off Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe, in a bowl I dumped in:

  • 4-5 tablespoons softened coconut oil (I was at the end of my jar so I just poured the last little bit in)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • my whole mess of coconut not-butter (approximately 4 cups)

and stirred like crazy.

This was not only tasty, since it was like a Mounds bar (if you throw in some almonds, it’s an Almond Joy!), but also kind of fun to play with.

I know, I know, don’t play with your food. But c’mon. It can be fluffy, like delicious coco-chocolate powder (as seen above) or flattened down and sliced off like a fantastic mousse

IMG_0194

Or rolled into a little truffle to pop in your mouth.

All while giving me healthy fat from coconut. Yum!

This should last quite awhile since it’s just coconut products and cocoa, but I’m willing to bet that I’ll eat it all up long before it could go bad.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Butter Fail, But Chocolate Win

Leave a Reply

