Better Than Takeout: Replacement Foods Pt. II

Hello again! I’m back to offer some more tasty treats to satisfy cravings for when you’re stuck with the choice between getting a processed package of sugar and crap or making it yourself. Don’t worry, these treats are quick easy to make, inexpensive, and taste delicious – far better than what you’d buy in a vacuum sealed bag! I also love that these are all so good that I was satisfied with a little – a scoop of cookie dough dip, a quarter of a muffin, etc – whereas it seems like the stuff from boxes always makes me crave more sugary stuff.

(Note: all pictures from the original blogs)

Monster Cookie Dough Dip from The Girl Who Ate Everything

This is the dough of basically the best cookie ever: peanut butter, chocolate chips, and M&Ms. I’m a big fan of eating it by the spoon or sandwiched between two pretzels, mmmmm.

Chocolate Chocolate Chunk Muffins from Brown Eyed Baker

You know those amazing looking, giant chocolate muffins that’re always in the bakery section of the store? These are better. Waaaay better. I quartered them and froze them, and even heated up they didn’t dry out like the store bought ones did. My favorite version is to take one of the frozen quarters, put peanut butter on it, and leave it in my car during my 2-3 hour session – by the time I came back out, it was perfectly defrosted with awesome melty peanut butter on it!

Coconut Macaroons from Skinny Taste

These are great little snacks, crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside, and without much guilt. I mean, yea, it’s basically coconut and sugar, but there are far worse things out there to be eating.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles from Vanilla and Lace

This is one of my go-to treats if I want something that looks nice, tastes great, but is done in a hurry. A double boiler is helpful for melting the chocolate, but definitely not necessary. I’ve even had kids help me make these, they’re so simple!

Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies from The Craving Chronicles

I’ve saved the best for last – think of it as a reward for getting through all of these without running off to make one. I have a lot of nostalgia for Little Debbie’s oatmeal cream pies, but I daresay these are even better. I’m not a big fan of marshmallow cream (and had no idea what I’d do with the rest of it except make more of these, which could be dangerous) so I used Pioneer Woman’s That’s the Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had (scroll down to Filling #2). It was a little tricky since that filling is thinner, and thus wanted to migrate out of the cookie and onto the plate, but there is a very simple remedy: fill the cookies, then freeze them. No re-heating necessary, they’re perfect just out of the freezer and heavenly on a hot summer day. And having them in the freezer, rather than right out on the counter, puts me a step away from mindlessly grabbing them every time I walk through the kitchen, which would genuinely be a problem ;)

Do you have any favorite recipes to fill the sweet or savory fast food/ready to eat hole?

Leave a Reply

